Home | Contact Us | FAQ | Search & Site Map | Link to Us
Sign In | Join | Other 45 Sites in Network
Home
ArticlesDiving DestinationsLearning Scuba DivingMarine LifeMiscellaneous
Discussion GroupsGeneralScuba EquipmentScuba LocationsAustralian ScubaUK Scuba
DirectoryScuba Clubs

Scuba Forum / General / April 2005

Tip: Looking for answers? Try searching our database.

More ebay rebreather scams

Thread view: 
Enable EMail Alerts  Start New Thread
Thread rating: 
Mike Ross - 09 Feb 2005 23:22 GMT
Heads-up!

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=7133316184

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=7133783016

Mike
--
http://www.corestore.org
'As I walk along these shores
I am the history within'
mike gray - 10 Feb 2005 00:44 GMT
> Heads-up!

The one from Illinois seems to be offered by a Brit that knows
nothing about rebreathers.

But damn, it's cheap so far.

Why do you say they're scams?

m
RayC - 10 Feb 2005 01:26 GMT
> The one from Illinois seems to be offered by a Brit that knows nothing
> about rebreathers.
[quoted text clipped - 4 lines]
>
> m

They are both the same guy and he says that his reserve is
$3400.  Although, he doesn't list a reserve with eBay.  Hmmmm

Oh, well, with a rating of zero, he surely doesn't care if
he gets negative feedback from "listing errors".

What he does know is that they are supposed to be $5000
units and he is giving you a good deal and paying the
shipping too!  They are actually $4250 so he isn't that far off.

Way too much money for a cash only deal!

Go get em!  LOL

Just my $.02

Signature

Ray Contreras
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Webmonkey for:
http://www.ossystems.com
http://www.bobs-garage.com
http://www.rayzplace.com

Scott - 10 Feb 2005 01:36 GMT
> > The one from Illinois seems to be offered by a Brit that knows nothing
> > about rebreathers.
[quoted text clipped - 18 lines]
>
> Go get em!  LOL

We respectfully defer to PT Barnum.
Mike Ross - 10 Feb 2005 02:26 GMT
>> Heads-up!
>
[quoted text clipped - 4 lines]
>
>Why do you say they're scams?

New zero-feedback seller, 3-day auction (hoping auction will end
before ebay cancels it), bidders IDs kept secret (so people like me
can't email them to warn them it's a scam), payment by Western Union
or wire transfer only (probably with some hilarious story about why it
has to be sent to somewhere in Latvia or Romania), plus offers to sell
at a 'buy it now' price if you email the seller, but 'buy it now' not
set for the auction... all adds up to undoubted scam.

Mike
--
http://www.corestore.org
'As I walk along these shores
I am the history within'
Jeff Dixon - 11 Feb 2005 22:34 GMT
Yes I think I would go along with you Mike
Scam for sure.
If it looks too cheap it is too cheap.
Rebreathers are as expensive over here as they are over there (infact more
so (this is rip off Britain you know)).
As you say it is probably a case of "please send the money to outer mongolia
where my brother's wife's fourteenth cousin twice removed lives"
anyway, thank you for the timely warnings and I notice that eBay have now
withdrawn the offending items.
Regards
to all
Jeff
illok73@yahoo.com - 21 Apr 2005 03:08 GMT
7149997652
Ebay auction #
 
Sign In
Join
My Latest Posts
My Monitored Threads
My Blog
My Photo Gallery
My Profile
My Homepage

Start New Thread
Enable EMail Alerts
Rate this Thread



©2008 Advenet LLC   Privacy Policy - Terms of Use
This website includes both content owned or controlled by Advenet as well as content owned or controlled by third parties.